Call for help

Hi peeps. I need some help, I hope you guys are willing. One of my biggest fears has happened and it couldn’t have happened at a worse time either.

Someone has stolen the storyline of Save Me and published it two months before I was set to. 

There’s no copy and pasting, but the characters include a widow who lost her child and has been basically locked away from people for two years until she meets a tall, blonde, crystal-eyed sweetheart who saves her. And wouldn’t you know? He has a little sister who’s a lesbian too. 

I’m devastated, angry, and everything in between. Not only is this story dear to my heart, it was a labor of love from start to finish, but I have recently spent quite a lot of time and money preparing it for publishing. If I go ahead and publish on schedule without taking a stand against this person, I’m the one who’s going to look like the thief. 

Most, if not all of you have read this fic and left me so many wonderful comments, and I’ll forever be grateful for all of it, but I need you one more time. Because it’s a fanfic and published on the internet I have very shaky legal grounds. Our stuff can be, and is, easily stolen. We have to fight back in other ways. I need those of you that have read Save Me to contact me please, if you’re willing to help. 

I’ve already contacted this person and, of course, she denied it, then threatened legal action against me. Go figure. 

Thank you guys, love you all! 

76 thoughts on “Call for help

  1. Hi – I don’t think I left a comment but I did read Save Me during it’s development, waiting for each chapter with baited breath, and would be thrilled to help if you need it. This really sucks and I am sorry it’s happening.
    Teresa

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Oh man! That just totally freaking sucks!
    There is a little peak at Save Me at the end of your first book, which was started, and finished, before this *ahem* person so rudely plagiarized you. Point them to it, let Amazon and other sites know what’s going on and let THEM see the blurb about Save Me at the end of the first book.
    I can’t remember if you’re using an editor or any such person, but if you are I’m sure you’ve already let them know.
    Contact the plagiarists editor, if they have one, and let them know. If you have a dated .pdf of the fan fic story which clearly shows that it was written well before the other person published their book, show the sites/persons you are using. Show them the reviews you got on the story.
    I’d have to check, if you don’t have an AO3 account, but I believe they have write ups on plagiarism and what to do about it, and possibly contact links to those who can help you fight this.
    Good luck. I hope it all turns out in your favor.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. How absolutely terrible. I am not sure if I left a comment at the time, but I loved this story and is one of my faves from the last year. i will be more than happy to assist.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. OMG, I hate it when people steal others work. I left comments on your amazing story. It is one of my favourites. Let me know what I can do. I’m glad to help and I hope this thief is dealt with. I’ve got your back.

    Like

  5. My heart aches for you dear fellow writer (and author). I cannot imagine what you are going through and I can’t begin to understand why one would do such thing.
    Everytime I hit the publish button I know that this is a reality and could happen to anyone… But I like to believe there is good in people and justice in life and that your fight will be a successful one. If anything, it might just give you publicity.

    Please let me know how I can help.
    Val

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Val, thank you! I let it break me for about two hours and then I got fighting mad. I’m much calmer now, but no less determined to do this. I don’t know what kind of rosy bubble I was living in, but I never dreamed this would happen. I try to believe people are good, just like you said. I’ve never, not once in the three years I’ve been writing had even close to a bad experience with anyone. Fellow writers or readers. It was a shock.

      Unfortunately, other than keeping our stories to ourselves, there’s very little to keep this from happening or to deter the thieves.

      I think I’ve got plenty of ammo against her now, so maybe I can beat her. We’ll see. If you’ll send me your email address I can get the email I sent to everyone yesterday out to you.

      Thanks again!!! ❤️❤️❤️

      Like

  6. I haven’t read your story but I am a fellow FF writer and I am an English teacher and I am the most amazingly fastest readerer and bestest spellerer in the world. Seriously – I am fast. Any proofing you need, let me know. I’ve got a contact me page you can email me through on my wordpress site. We are all so vulnerable to assholes like this and I am happy to help you any way I can. The sad truth is this can happen to any of us. FF (especially transformative FF) needs more legal protection. Stupid laws need to catch up!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. LOL! I wish I was a bestest spellerer 😉 I very well may contact you to give it one last once over before I officially publish it. My English major best friend was editing for me, we got about halfway through, but her Mom was diagnosed with cancer last week so I told her to be with her family. Thankfully, the beta copies don’t have to be perfect, but I do want to make sure it is before releasing it.

      I appreciate the offer!! And yes! The laws need to catch up, ASAP!!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Oh, that sucks. Sorry to hear about that, Justwandering.

    I don’t know what the legalities are for sure, but I get the impression that if this other story is just a similar plot and there’s nothing in common in the wording or scenes so that a casual reader wouldn’t recognise them as the same then there’s not a lot you can do. (But on the plus side, they can’t do anything either.)

    If it’s closer to your story, even just paraphrasing it — then I think you should be able to do something about it. Is Save Me still up somewhere online with a date on it? Then that’s proof you wrote it before this one was published and you can try contacting the publishers.

    I think ficlit got some legal advice from the Organization for Transformative Works — the people who run AO3 — when something similar happened to her. Try here: http://www.transformativeworks.org/legal/

    Like

Leave a Reply

