Never take a moment for granted

This isn’t a new chapter, I apologize. It’s more of a heads up and reminder. 

I may be missing for awhile. Though I hope I still have the desire to keep writing and am able to come back with lots of chapters for you I can’t promise when that will happen.

Life has dealt us another blow this week and I don’t think we’ll ever be the same.

On Monday afternoon my husband was in a terrible wreck. Thank the Lord he’ll be okay, physically. Emotionally is a different story. 

This is what’s left of his truck. But it can be replaced.

A life can’t.

A beautiful eleven year old girl lost her’s because he mom was distracted and ran a stop sign at 60mph right in front of my husband. That mother will forever bear that burden and so will my husband and I even though he wasn’t at fault. Our hearts are broken for this family and the pain they are suffering. Pain as a mother myself I can’t even begin to imagine. But most importantly, pain that never had to happen.
We’re all guilty of it. We pick up our phones, whether to text, read, or talk. We all zone out, letting our minds wander and go on autopilot. We turn around and fuss at our kids. We lean over to pick up something that fell in the floorboard. We all hate to admit it, but we do it just the same. 

The worst is that accidents like this happen everyday. In my state alone over 1,400 people have lost their lives in car wrecks this year. 

1,400.

We have to stop. 

Put your phone where it can’t be reached. Lock it in the glove box, put it in the trunk if you have to. Pick a station before you pull out and leave it there. Let the kids scream or fuss. Fuss back, just don’t take your eyes off the road. 

Always be aware of your surroundings. Look for the road signs, they’re there for a reason. If you’re coming to a congested area, slow down. If you’re in an unfamiliar area, slow down. 

Our cars and trucks are a part of our everyday lives. We need them. But every time we sit behind the wheel we are taking on a huge responsibility, one most of us easily forget. It’s a responsibility to our families and every other driver on the road and their families too. It only takes a split second to forever change the lives of dozens of people. 

We have asked ourselves a thousand times this week why this had to happen. To that sweet little girl, her family, our family. I don’t know that we’ll ever have an answer. But if it will wake up just one person and make them be more cautious behind the wheel it will help ease the pain. 

Don’t wait until something tragic like this happens in your own life to do better. Do better now and stop it from happening at all. 

I almost lost my husband this week, our kids their dad. Never take a moment with your loved ones for granted, no matter how small. Tell them how much you love them everyday. 
❤ JustWanderingNeverLost

22 thoughts on “Never take a moment for granted

  1. Oh hon. I am desperately sorry that this happened to both your families. Please hug your hubby for me, and please try to get him in for some grief counseling if he is open to it. My daughter’s best friend put his car under the back of a flatbed semi trailer in September, whilst checking his GPS. Several of his friends, including my own sister, have changed their attitudes towards phones and distractions after seeing his mangled car, and his significant injuries. He is just now off crutches. My daughter? Still screws with her phone. I will be showing her your post. I’m praying for peace for all of you guys… you just take care of your family right now, the fandom isn’t going anywhere! *hugs *

    Like

  2. Oh my friend i am so very sorry this has happened to your family. This burden is more than any one person should bear. Thankfully, your husband has love and support to keep him going, I can even imagine what the mother of that little girl is going through right now, I honestly don’t know how I could continue. Its hard not to think of your Sookie in “Save Me” just a little bit right now, and her bottomless desperation. 😦

    I will be holding your family in the light and in my thoughts…and sending whatever blessings i can up for that mother that she find a way to forgive herself one day. ❤

    Like

  3. I am really really sorry this happened to your family….
    You and your husband wll be in my prayers as well for the other family who has received a great loss.
    Sending you a big hug…
    Jackie69

    Like

  4. What a senseless tragedy. Your poor husband – I hope he heals fully. It will be hard to get past the emotional
    toll. And the poor little girls family, what a horror for a mother to go through.
    Hold your family tight and get back to writing whenever you feel like it.
    Susan

    Like

  5. What a terrible tragedy. I am glad your husband is okay, and the loss of the child is devastating. There are no words that can ease this pain. Only the passage of time will help. Take all you need. We will be glad enough read your words when you feel like writing again.

    Like

  6. Wow, that is truly terrible. I will keep you all in my thoughts. I’m glad your husband is ok physically. It’s a great message about being a safe driver. We take so much for granted, including our ability to multi task like that but it’s really impossible. Take care, sweetheart. Hugs. ❤️

    Like

  7. Oh sweetie I’m so sorry for what has happened. Please take all the time you need to be with your family. We’ll be here when you decide you’re ready to come back. Take care❤️

    Like

  8. Oh, dear friend, thoughts and prayers are being sent for all for you at this time, and in the future. Such a tragedy for all, and their lives will never be the same. My heart is breaking for everyone involved. I’ll drop you a line from time to time just to see how you’re all doing. None of us are going anywhere. We’ll wait for you. You do whatever it takes. Please take care.

    Like

  9. I am so sorry you and your family have to deal with this. I have experienced something similar and what I suggest is mourn the loss.Because even though you have never met her, the impact in your life is enormous. It’s ok to cry over it, it’s ok to be angry, and most of all it’s ok to move on. Just remember it’s not going to be easy, but love one another and I will pray for all of you.

    Like

  10. Such a tragedy for everyone involved. A moment of in-attention is all it takes when you are driving, and then you have to live with the consequences for the rest of your life. So glad your husband is okay, but that mother will never be the same..you are all in my prayers.

    Like

  11. My heart aches to hear of this. I encourage you and your family to grieve and mourn as you need for as long as you need. I appreciate and am grateful for the message and the reminder to reduce distractions. I am taking your message to heart as I am guilty of talking on the phone as I leave work each day. All of you will be in my prayers tonight.

    Like

  12. Sending love and prayers.
    So sorry this happened to you and the other poor family that lost their child. So heartbreaking.
    You are so right about driving and getting distracted. I’m going to try and do better because this post touched me so.
    Bless you and your sweet family.

    Like

Leave a Reply

